We support and empower children and young people to improve their mental, emotional and physical wellbeing. We can help them manage and improve their:

  • weight
  • emotional health
  • digital wellbeing
  • risk taking behaviour

We also help with:

  • allergies and asthma
  • continence problems including constipation and night or daytime wetting
  • diet and eating problems
  • emotional problems e.g. feeling sad, angry, anxious or worried
  • existing health conditions
  • general health and development issues including minor illnesses, speech, hearing, vision and motor skills
  • self-esteem and confidence building
  • sexual health including STIs, contraception, sexuality and puberty
  • substance misuse including cigarettes, alcohol and drugs

We also train and work with school staff on how to identify and manage mental health in the classroom, as well as how to manage conditions such as allergies and asthma.

If your child has been referred to our service, we’ll get in touch with you to set up an appointment. This may be with you and your child, or for a young person, this may be arranged one to one in their school or college. During the appointment we’ll discuss the issues your child or young person is facing and come up with a plan to support them. 

Depending on your child’s circumstances support could be in the form of:

  • a single advice session
  • temporary support of 1 to 2 weeks
  • a 6 week programme of support
  • group work with other children or young people who are in a similar situation
  • signposting to useful online information and organisations
  • exercises and strategies for you and your child to try at home

Our nurses may deliver this support over the phone or in person and we’ll work around the needs of both you and your child.

If your child needs more support than we’re able to provide, we’ll refer them to other specialist services such as:

 

For more information about our service visit Cumbria County Council’s Public Health 5 to 19 Parent Zone

North Cumbria team

Claire O’Neill
claire.o’neill2@ncic.nhs.uk

Sam Fell
sam.fell@ncic.nhs.uk

Michelle Young
michelle.young@ncic.nhs.uk


South Cumbria team

Yvonne Rowlinson
yvonne.rowlinson@ncic.nhs.uk 

Donna Moore
donna.moore@ncic.nhs.uk ​​​​​​​


West Cumbria team

Charlotte Thompson
charlotte.thompson2@ncic.nhs.uk

Louise Pearson
louise.pearson@ncic.nhs.uk